How To Get A Job, Fast

I started working when I was 11 or 12 years old. Actually, I might have been even younger. One summer my dad told me that he was going to cut off my allowance. Since I wasn’t in school and had a bunch of free time, I’d have to work for my money. And work I did.

My dad provided a lot of ways to earn money. I painted fences, mowed the lawn, landscaped our back yard. There was enough work for my friends to do as well. So my pop hired some of my buddies and we all worked together during the day for a summer or two.

When the day was up, we’d have a few bucks in our pockets and the whole evening in front of us. The feeling of being young, not having to go to school, and having some money in your pocket is almost indescribable. Its just a thing of beauty.

Through high school, I always had jobs. My first ever official job was in a bagel shop. I’m embarrassed to admit that I was fired from that job for giving away free bagels to my friends. The owners were a married couple, going through hard times both personally and financially. As a young and irresponsible teenager, I wasn’t able to grasp how big of jerk I was. Getting fired was educational though. From there, I went on to work at an amusement park as a cashier.

Through the present I’ve worked as a retail sales person, a Chuck E. Cheese game ref (yes, I wore the mouse costume), a banquet waiter, a bell hop, an office clerk, a baby sitter, a salesman, a business owner, a substitute teacher, a government accountant, a salesman again, then an independent accountant/salesman/math tutor.

As you can see, I’m quite qualified to give you advice about how to get a job.

Most recently, I’ve been able to get a ton of work in the town we recently moved to. In fact, I’ve got so much work that I’ve had to recruit my wife to help me. The next person that offers me work will, gasp!, be turned down. I have no more time.

My family has a little chocolate business, so when we moved, I already had a secure part time job as an accountant and a salesperson. But I wanted more work  to supplement my income and to stay out of trouble.

Within 7 weeks, I had two new part time jobs. Within three months I had more work than I could handle and at a decent wage.

Here is how you can duplicate my results.

First, write up a cover letter for your resume. In the cover lever, stress the following points:

1. You have an expertise but you really just want to work and will take any job they have. You’re humble.

2. They can pay you very little in the beginning, say the first month, while they test out your work. After a month, you can reconvene to talk about a permanent wage.

3. Tell them that you’re reliable. You never call in sick, you don’t make excuses, and you’ll give them a full day of work.

4. Give an accomplishment that you achieved at your last job. For example, they hired me as an entry level employee and I worked my way up. Or, I averaged a 95% customer satisfaction score.

5. Finally, tell them that you’re ready to start immediately and that you expect to get a lot of offers. You’re going to work on a first come, first serve basis, so they better act quick.

Print out literally 100 copies of the cover letter and your resume. Choose a neighborhood that you want to work in and go door to door. (I promise you, I did this myself. I’m not making this stuff up.) Walk into businesses and ask the first person you see if they’re hiring. Most people will say no. Don’t worry about it. Ask if you can leave a resume. If they ask what you do, that is what kind of job you want, tell them very quickly. People are busy and you’re a solicitor. You don’t want to bug them.

Also, go on Craigslist and apply for at least ten jobs a day. Don’t worry if the job isn’t in your field. Be open to trying something new. Most jobs can be done by anybody. The company will train you. You just have to put yourself out there.

Figure out what wage will allow you to pay your bills. Accept any job that satisfies this requirement. Don’t shoot for the stars. Be modest in your expectations. Once you have your foot in the door, you can work your way up.

If you find a company that you really want to work for, go drop off your resume in person. Ask who is charge of hiring for the position you want. When you meet the person, tell them that you really want the job. You wanted the manager to be able to put a face with the resume. Don’t linger. Make your point and get out of there.

Register with all of the temp agencies in town. Take any jobs they offer you. It is quite common for good temp workers to get hired permanently by the company. The temp contract will stipulate that the company can’t hire you during a certain period. Once that period is up, you can get a full time, permanent job with the company. Its all about getting your foot in the door.

If you feel like your skills aren’t in demand, spend a couple of hundred bucks on taking the following courses: A basic bookkeeping course and a sales training program. Sales and accounting are the two most universal fields. You can get a decent paying job in any economy and in any town if you can sell and keep books.

For bookkeeping, I highly recommend Quickbooks for Dummies. There is a primer on accounting at the beginning and it is quite thorough. You can also get yourself quickbooks certified for a couple hundred dollars and in a short period of time.

For sales, I recommend the course Common Sense Selling. It is a course geared toward helping non-salesy people understand the sales process.

You should do both. The accounting/sales combination is unique and in high demand, always. Put the fact that you’ve completed these courses at the top of your resume.

Don’t forget, getting a job is  a numbers game. Don’t take rejection personally. Get your butt out the door and walking into businesses a couple of days a week. People will respect the effort you are making and refer you even if they don’t have a job available. Apply to at least 10 jobs online every day.

You’ll be shocked at how quickly you get hired.

Leave a Reply

